FuhQuake Forum Index FuhQuake
https://fuhquake.net
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Linux ALSA init

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    FuhQuake Forum Index -> General ChitChat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jezaja



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 6:53 am    Post subject: Linux ALSA init Reply with quote

I have a i8x0 soundcard (intel onboard) on my laptop.

fuh (mqwcl and qw) works with the traditional oss module i810_audio.

But when you want to run the alsa emulation of oss then you cant start fuh, it gives broken pipe and some other naughty errors.

Its works perfectly with mplayer or xmms to run via oss emulation though.

I suppose its the same code for sound as from the QW source(too lazy to diff).

(Tried this on two computers with the same card. One laptop and one desktop)

Any suggestions or modification available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ba`alzamon



Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fuhquake sound is working fine here with alsa.

Whats the exact errors you get?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ba`alzamon



Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

actually i thought i was using alsa, but it seems like im not.

root@windsok:/home/windsok# lsmod
Module Size Used by Tainted: P
nvidia 1628576 11 (autoclean)
snd-pcm-oss 37252 0
snd-mixer-oss 11992 1 [snd-pcm-oss]
keybdev 1952 0 (unused)
mousedev 4244 1
hid 21156 0 (unused)
usbmouse 2008 0 (unused)
input 3200 0 [keybdev mousedev hid usbmouse]
snd-emu10k1 60212 1
snd-pcm 55904 0 [snd-pcm-oss snd-emu10k1]
snd-timer 13252 0 [snd-pcm]
snd-hwdep 4672 0 [snd-emu10k1]
snd-util-mem 1136 0 [snd-emu10k1]
snd-page-alloc 6004 0 [snd-emu10k1 snd-pcm]
snd-rawmidi 12512 0 [snd-emu10k1]
snd-seq-device 3920 0 [snd-emu10k1 snd-rawmidi]
snd-ac97-codec 37240 0 [snd-emu10k1]
snd 27460 0 [snd-pcm-oss snd-mixer-oss snd-emu10k1 snd-pcm snd-timer snd-hwdep snd-util-mem snd-rawmidi snd-seq-device snd-ac97-codec]
soundcore 3332 6 [snd]
emu10k1-gp 1352 0 (unused)
gameport 1452 0 [emu10k1-gp]
8139too 15240 1
mii 2304 0 [8139too]
crc32 2880 0 [8139too]
uhci 24496 0 (unused)
usbcore 58400 1 [hid usbmouse uhci]
ide-scsi 9424 0
agpgart 39576 3
root@windsok:/home/windsok#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jezaja



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2003 5:42 am    Post subject: reply Reply with quote

Ba alzamon:

You are using alsa. all snd-modules are alsa-modules.
It's only for this soundcard (intel onboard i8x0) the problem accurs, tried on several others and they worked perfectly.

Ill return with a complete list of errors when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trouble



Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have the same problem. i am using my onboard sound from i810 chipset and alsa.
fuhquake works fine. but i dont get any sound. only "/dev/dsp: Broken pipe" Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hardcampa



Joined: 23 Aug 2003
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

soundcore 3332 6 [snd]
emu10k1-gp 1352 0 (unused)
gameport 1452 0 [emu10k1-gp]
8139too 15240 1
mii 2304 0 [8139too]
crc32 2880 0 [8139too]
uhci 24496 0 (unused)
usbcore 58400 1 [hid usbmouse uhci]
ide-scsi 9424 0
agpgart 39576 3
root@windsok:/home/windsok#


It seems like you're using the emu10k1-gp? Is that an OSS module?

You have to uncheck OSS from the kernel and only use ALSA. You can however use ALSA OSS emulation with alsa. There are checkmarks for those in the menuconfig.

Apart from this make sure you unmute the soundcard as ALSA comes with default on MUTE.

I.E run alsamixer and press M on the master channel to unmute.
_________________
gibbage.mine.nu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
oldman



Joined: 10 Sep 2002
Posts: 636

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2004 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

type

ls -l /dev/dsp

where does the symbolic link point to?

change it to point to /dev/sound/dsp

might help? dunno
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
jezaja



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

# Force 48k Hz in quakeworld
echo "fuhquake.svga 0 0 direct" > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/oss
echo "fuhquake-gl.glx 0 0 direct" > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/oss

# Disable recording for quakeworld
echo "fuhquake-gl.glx 0 0 disable" > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0c/oss
echo "fuhquake.svga 0 0 disable" > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0c/oss

echo "fuhquake.svga 0 0 disable" > /proc/asound/card0/pcm1c/oss
echo "fuhquake-gl.glx 0 0 disable" > /proc/asound/card0/pcm1c/oss


Found this in a quake3 forum somewhere which fixed the problem, but the sound-code for fuhquake (still original?) isnt very nice, I suggest like in my new thread to steal the alsa code from quakeforge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    FuhQuake Forum Index -> General ChitChat All times are GMT + 10 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

hosted by ausgamers